Akwa United, Tornadoes, Sunshine Stars look good for quarter finals

A clutch of Nigeria Premier Soccer League groups together with Akwa United, Sunshine Stars and Nasarawa United are the acknowledged high canine because the Spherical of 16 matches of this yr’s AITEO Cup competitors happen on Saturday and Sunday in several centres of the Federation.

Niger Tornadoes, who squeezed by to this stage with a 6-5 penalty shoot-out defeat of two-time CAF Champions League winners Enyimba FC have a date with Inexperienced Beret FC on the FIFA Purpose Mission contained in the MKO Abiola Nationwide Stadium, Abuja.

Akwa United have an attention-grabbing fixture towards Kogi United, who additionally skilled the lottery of penalty shoot-out earlier than edging out bold Kanta United following a 2-2 attract regulation time. The boys from Uyo eased their method to this stage with a 3-0 spanking of CAF Cup aspirants Remo Stars. Each groups are engaged in the one match of the lads’s competitors arising on Sunday, and on the College of Nigeria, Enugu Campus.

Sunshine Stars, large winners (5-1) over Rovers within the Spherical of 32, have a date with Katsina United on the Space 3 venue within the Federal Capital Territory, whereas Kano Pillars sort out DMD FC on the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium in Bauchi.

Heartland FC, who ejected multi-titlists Enugu Rangers after penalty shoot-out in Benin Metropolis, will probably be up towards Dakkada of Uyo on the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba. Lobi Stars will sq. up towards Akure Metropolis on the College of Nigeria, Enugu Campus on Saturday.

Nasarawa United, stretched taut by Sokoto United in a penalty shootout that finally ended 11-10, will probably be up towards impressed Bendel Insurance coverage on the Enyimba Worldwide Stadium in Aba, whereas El-Kanemi Warriors and Wikki Vacationers will do battle in Jos.

Within the ladies’s occasion, Cup holders Bayelsa Queens will commerce tackles with Abia Angels in Akure on Sunday, with Nasarawa Amazons and Confluence Queens in a probably explosive encounter on the FIFA Purpose Mission in Abuja additionally on Sunday.

Heartland Queens, 2-1 winners over Dannaz Women within the earlier spherical, will probably be up towards Delta Queens on the Otunba Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu-Ode.

Final yr’s runners-up FC Robo Queens, who dislodged Edo Queens 2-0 within the Spherical of 16, are rewarded with one other large tie, this time towards Royal Queens, who edged Osun Babes. Each groups take the pitch on the Abakaliki from 4pm on Sunday.



Inexperienced Beret Vs Niger Tornadoes – 06/08/22 – FIFA Purpose Mission – 4pm

Lobi Stars Vs Akure Metropolis Vs Niger Tornadoes – 06/08/22 – Enugu – 4pm

Heartland FC Vs Dakkada FC – 06/08/22 – Asaba – 4pm

Sunshine Stars Vs Katsina United – 06/08/22 – Space 3 Abuja – 4pm

Akwa United Vs Kogi United – 07/08/22 – Enugu – 4pm

DMD FC Vs Kano Pillars – 06/08/22 – Bauchi – 4pm

El-Kanemi Warriors Vs Wikki Vacationers – 06/08/22 – Jos – 4pm

Bendel Insurance coverage Vs Nasarawa United – 06/08/22 – Aba – 4pm


Bayelsa Queens Vs Abia Angels – 07/08/22 – Akure – 4pm

Nasarawa Amazons Vs Confluence Queens – 07/08/22 – Abuja – 4pm

Delta Queens Vs Heartland Queens – 07/08/22 – Ijebu-Ode – 4pm

Royal Queens Vs FC Robo Queens – 07/08/22 – Abakaliki – 4pm


Bayelsa United 0 Inexperienced Beret 0 (4-5 penalties)

Enyimba Worldwide 0 Niger Tornadoes 0 (5-6 penalties)

Doma United 0 Lobi Stars 3

Akure Metropolis Academy 2 Bendel Insurance coverage Feeders 1

Rangers Int’l 1 Heartland FC 1 (7-8 penalties)

Sunshine Stars 5 Rovers FC 1

Cynosure FC 1 Katsina United 3

Remo Stars 0 Akwa United 3

Kogi United 2 Kanta United 2 (5-4 penalties)

DMD FC 0 Housing Company 0 (4-2 penalties)

Zamfara United 0 Kano Pillars 5

Fulfill FC 0 El-Kanemi Warriors 1

Kwara United 1 Wikki Vacationers 1 (3-4 penalties)

Bendel Insurance coverage 1 Ottasolo FC 1 (4-3 penalties)

Sokoto United 1 Nasarawa United 1 (10-11 penalties)    


Bayelsa Queens 3 Niger Amazons 0 (W/O) 

Abruka Queens 1 Abia Angels 3

Naija Ratels 0 Nasarawa Amazons 1

Immaculate Queens 0 Confluence Queens 8

Honey Badgers 0 Delta Queens 2

Heartland Queens 2 Dannaz Women 1

Osun Babes 2 Royal Queens 3

Edo Queens 0 FC Robo Queens 2




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.